Fiction: 2015

  • icon

    Katherine Clark

    Katherine Clark holds an A.B. degree in English from Harvard and a Ph.D. in English from Emory. She is the coauthor of the oral biographies Motherwit: An Alabama Midwife’s Story, with Onnie Lee Logan, and Milking the Moon: A Southerner’s Story of Life on This Planet with Eugene Walter (a finalist for a National Book Critics Circle award). A former student of Martin Hames, the inspiration for the character of Norman Laney, Clark has written three additional Mountain Brook novels featuring Laney and his students—All the Governor’s Men, The Harvard Bride, and The Ex-Suicide, all forthcoming from the University of South Carolina Press imprint Story River Books. Clark is currently collaborating with Pat Conroy on his oral biography, also forthcoming from the University of South Carolina Press.


    Katherine Clark will present on Saturday, Sept. 26 at the Festival.

  • icon

    Phoebe Fox

    Phoebe Fox is the author of The Breakup Doctor and Bedside Manners, part of the Breakup Doctor series (from Henery Press). Heart Conditions, book three of the series, will be released February 2016. You can find her at

    Phoebe Fox will lead a session in the Writers Conference and present during the Book Festival

  • icon

    Sohrab Homi Fracis

    Sohrab Homi Fracis won the Iowa Short Fiction Award, juried by the legendary Iowa Writers Workshop, for Ticket to Minto: Stories of India and America (University of Iowa Press). It was re-published in India and translated into German. He was awarded the Florida Individual Artist Fellowship in Literature/Fiction and the Walter E. Dakin Fellowship in Fiction. He was Visiting Writer in Residence at Augsburg College, and an artist in residence at Escape to Create and Yaddo.

    Sohrab Fracis will lead a Critique Session.

  • icon

    Darlyn Finch Kuhn

    Darlyn Finch Kuhn is that rare animal – a Florida native. In addition to her two poetry collections (Red Wax Rose and Three Houses) Kuhn’s work has appeared in literary journals, newspapers, magazines and online. Her poems have been featured on Poetic Logic on the local NPR affiliate, and been read by Garrison Keillor on the Writers Almanac. She was interviewed on World Radio Paris. Kuhn is the eponymous “Scribbler,” of the Scribbles literary e-newsletter. She produces book trailer videos with her husband at Brad Kuhn & Associates in Orlando, Florida. Her debut novel, Sewing Holes, is available now from Twisted Road Publications,, and wherever books are sold.

    Darlyn Finch Kuhn will present during the Writers Conference.

  • icon

    Joan Leggitt

    Joan Leggitt has been a graphic artist, book distributor, freelance editor, and, at last, a (4th generation) publisher. She founded Twisted Road Publications in January 2013 with the mission of moving marginalized voices into the mainstream. Its primary focus is literary fiction, but they also publish creative non-fiction. For more information about the press and its authors, click here.

    Joan Leggitt will present during the Writers Conference.

  • icon

    Robert N. Macomber

    Robert N. Macomber is an award-winning author, an internationally recognized lecturer, a former defense consultant, and an accomplished seaman. He has won the top regional, state, and national literary awards in his genre: historical literary fiction. His twelfth novel in the “Honor Series,” The Assassin’s Honor, has a release date in October 2015. Mr. Macomber grew up on the waters along the southwest coast of Florida. By age seventeen, he was an offshore racing skipper and raced for the next thirty-two years in Florida, the Bahamas, and Mexico. When not traveling the world on research treks, lecture tours, or book signings, he lives a quiet life at his cottage in St. James, Pine Island, on the same coast where he grew up. When not writing, he enjoys sailing among the more remote islands and cooking the exotic cuisines from his novels.

    Robert Macomber will give the keynote luncheon address during the Writers Conference and will present during the Book Festival.

  • icon

    Mark Powell

    Mark Powell is the author of five novels: Blood Kin, which received the Peter Taylor Prize, Prodigals, both published by the University of Tennessee Press, The Dark Corner, and The House of the Lord. His most recent novel, The Sheltering, is a literary thriller. Set primarily in Florida, it tells the story of drone pilot Luther Redding and his family, who suffer a great tragedy. Meanwhile, burned out brothers Donny and Bobby Rosen light out on a drug-fueled road trip to the American West. Powell was educated at The Citadel, The University of South Carolina, and Yale Divinity School. He teaches in the English Department at Stetson University in DeLand, Florida.

    Mark Powell will lead a session during the Writers Conference and will discuss his most recent book during the Book Festival.

  • icon

    Bob Shacochis

    Bob Shacochis’s first collection of stories, Easy in the Islands, won the National Book Award for First Fiction, and his second collection, The Next New World, was awarded the Prix de Rome from the Academy of Arts and Letters. He is also the author of the novel Swimming in the Volcano, a finalist for the National Book Award, and The Immaculate Invasion, a work of literary reportage that was a finalist for The New Yorker Literary Award for Best Nonfiction Book of the Year. His most recent book The Woman Who Lost Her Soul received the Dayton Literary Peace Prize for Fiction and was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. The Association of Writers and Writing (AWP) awarded Shacochis the George Garrett Award for Service to the Literary Community. Shacochis is a contributing editor for Outside, and his op-eds on the U.S. military, Haiti, and Florida politics have appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.

    Bob Shacochis will give a talk during the Writers Conference and welcome attendees to the Writers Mix and Mingle Reception

  • icon

    Elizabeth Sims

    Elizabeth Sims is the author of eight successful novels in two series, the Rita Farmer Mysteries and the Lambda Award-winning Lillian Byrd Crime Novels. She’s been published by a major house (Macmillan) as well as several small presses. Elizabeth writes frequently for Writer’s Digest magazine, where she is a contributing editor. Her book You’ve Got a Book in You: A Stress-Free Guide to Writing the Book of Your Dreams (Writer’s Digest Books) received special recognition by NaNoWriMo and by hundreds of other web sites and bloggers. Elizabeth’s books have reached #1 on a variety of Amazon fiction and nonfiction bestseller lists.

    Elizabeth Sims will lead a Critique Session and a session during the Writers Conference

  • icon

    Jane R. Wood

    Jane R. Wood, author of five award-winning juvenile fiction books, weaves history into stories filled with mystery, adventure, and humor. She uses her experiences as a former classroom teacher, newspaper reporter, and television producer to write, publish, and market her books. Wood has spoken to hundreds of schools across the country, tapping into that unique and lucrative market.

    Jane Wood will lead a session during the Writers Conference.