Literary Legends Reception

Mariott Courtyard, 22 September 2017

Steve Berry

Steve Berry is the New York Times and #1 internationally bestselling author of twelve Cotton Malone adventures and four stand alone thrillers. His books have been translated into 40 languages with more than 20,000,000 copies in 51 countries. They consistently appear in the top echelon of The New York Times, USA Today, and Indie bestseller lists.

History lies at the heart of every Steve Berry novel. It’s his passion, one he shares with his wife, Elizabeth, which led them to create History Matters, a foundation dedicated to historic preservation. Since 2009 Steve and Elizabeth have crossed the country to save endangered historic treasures, raising money via lectures, receptions, galas, luncheons, dinners and their popular writers’ workshops. To date, over 3,000 students have attended those workshops and nearly a million dollars has been raised. In 2012 and 2013 Steve’s devotion to historic preservation was recognized by the American Library Association, which named Steve it’s spokesperson for National Preservation Week. Among his other honors are the Royden B. Davis Distinguished Author Award; the Barnes & Noble Writers for Writers Award given by Poets & Writers; the Anne Frank Human Writes Award; and the Silver Bullet, bestowed by International Thriller Writers for his philanthropic work. A 2010 NPR survey named The Templar Legacy one of the top 100 thrillers ever written.

Steve was born and raised in Georgia, graduating from the Walter F. George School of Law at Mercer University. He was a trial lawyer for 30 years and held elective office for 14 of those years. He is a member of the Smithsonian Institution Libraries Advisory Board and is a founding member of International Thriller Writers—a group of more than 4,000 thriller writers from around the world—and served three years as its co-president.

Legends Reception

22nd September
Marriott Courtyard
St Augustine Beach
$60 in advance. $75 at the door

2017 Registration

To register, please email your name, address, and email to Registration will be confirmed when payment is received. You may submit your payment via Paypal or by check to P.O. Box 4011 St. Augustine, FL 32085.

Advance Registration

Past Literary Legends

Florida Heritage Book Festival Literary Legends

2014: Dr. Robin Cook

2013: John Jakes

2012: Edna Buchanan

2011: Randy Wayne White, Peter Matthiessen

2010: Carl Hiaasen

2009: Michael Gannon, Michael Connelly, Harry Crews

2008: Stetson Kennedy, Jack Hunter, Patrick Smith

Posthumous Legends Awards

2016: E. L. Konigsburg

2014: John D. MacDonald

2012: Ernest Hemingway

2011: Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, Zora Neale Hurston